SCVNews.com | Dogs Attack Pair of Horses, Riders in Canyon Country | 08-10-2014

Two dogs allegedly attacked a pair of horses while their owners rode them through a wash near Soledad Canyon Road in Canyon Country on Friday.

Natalie Lilley, of Saugus, was horseback riding with her 12-year-old daughter at 8:30 a.m. Friday when an unidentified woman “lost control” of her two dogs and they began chasing the horses and riders, Lilley said.

“I turned the horse to see the dogs coming when I realized these dogs were in attack mode,” she said. “I screamed for my daughter to take off in the opposite direction. The dogs then took off after her, I ran interference and the dogs then came after me and my horse.”

The dogs, which Lilley identified as pit bulls, bit at her stirrups before she jumped off the horse and attempted to fend them both off, she said.

One dog managed to bite the horse in the abdomen before Lilley was able to urge her horse to run away without her, both dogs in pursuit.

“I thought the horse without me could outrun the dogs,” she said. “I’ve never been faced with that kind of danger. I felt completely out of control and there was nothing I could do. I had no way to defend myself, I had no way to defend my daughter or my horses… It was traumatic.”

Neither Lilley nor her daughter were injured in the attack, she said.

The owner of the dogs, who allegedly refused to give Lilley any form of identification, and the dogs themselves “disappeared” before Santa Clarita Valley Sheriff’s Station deputies arrived at the scene.

Deputies encouraged Lilley to contact the Los Angeles County Department of Animal Care and Control, she said. Animal Control investigates most animal-on-animal attacks, according to officials.

“I don’t know how soon the dogs came back to (the owner), or if they ever came back to her,” Lilley said. “People in that particular area (should) be on the look-out.”

In addition to filing a Sheriff’s Station report, Lilley also filed a report with Animal Control officials, who told her they needed the identification of the woman in order to seize the dogs, Lilley said.

The horse suffered puncture wounds to the abdomen and had “chunks” taken out of its legs, but is currently recovering at a veterinary facility.

via SCVNews.com | Dogs Attack Pair of Horses, Riders in Canyon Country | 08-10-2014.

One thought on “SCVNews.com | Dogs Attack Pair of Horses, Riders in Canyon Country | 08-10-2014”

This site posts News hits about Dangerous Dogs and Dog Laws. WE do not write these stories. WE do not comment on these stories. WE do not add to these stories. We have offered to change information (and we have done this on several occasions) if the reporting news outlet updates or changes their story. Please don't write us nasty, rude or foul mouthed messages about, pit bulls, statistics or fact checking. If you have an issue with the way a story is reported please contact the news outlet that is linked at the bottom of the post. Knowing this, if you still wish to comment, please do so.

